A Rose Is A Rose

About Rose, James, Our Life & More

My Husband, James


Many people cannot believe I got married at such a young age, but they don’t know James the way I do. I realize there is no such thing as a perfect husband but he is as close to being perfect as I can imagine.

I’m not as naive as people think I am either. James was not my first boyfriend adn I was not his first girlfriend. Furthermore I knew what I wanted and what I demand of any man I would chose to spend the rest of my life with. I’ve been observing my parents since I was about six years old. Old enough to understand that I was interested in becoming either a scientist or a detective.

I studied my parents relationship. I watched neighbors, relatives, and TV families. I am very good at observation. I watched the boy James grow into a man. I watched the loving friend become an loving husband. I know what I want for my life and I know what I want for any children I might have.

There are no guarantees in any aspect of life however, I believe I have done all that I can do as a human being to prepare for my future. I just wish people could be less judgmental and more supportive — especially all those divorced relatives, single girlfriends and most importantly all those people I know who are still married (unhappily) and wish they weren’t.

Over 50% of marriages end in divorce. Period. My parents dealt with bigotry and hatred all of their married life and before. I watched them persevere and if any marriage should have ended, it would have been theirs. Love prevailed and I learned so much from my mother on how to be a female. How to be feminine and how to be a wife to a loving husband and most importantly I learned how to reciprocate and be a loving wife.

I learned so much from my father on how to be a good husband and father and how to respect myself as a woman and most importantly what to demand from a boyfriend and husband.

4 responses to “My Husband, James

  1. zumpoems November 15, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Wonderfully written — heartfelt and something those not married yet, would benefit from reading and understanding.

  2. tryityoumightlikeit August 25, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    My husband and I were married at 21 and we are stilling going strong 13 years later. You know what is right for you and it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks. You’re lucky to have found the one so early in life.

  3. Tom Baker August 21, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Ignore the naysayers! You and James became one and nothing anyone else has to say that is not positive about your marriage, you should just ignore. I’ve been married for less than a year and it was a surprise to April when I whisked her away and married her in Las Vegas. We have those who are still against us even today even though we were engaged and were together for many years. Ignore them.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and I see I’m on your blogroll. Once your site has been around for a while I would like to add you to mine as well. I think you and April would get along great. Don’t take this the wrong way, but I’m glad we are both in Indianapolis!

    • Rose August 22, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      Thanks for your support. You and April seem to have a great marriage and I was very inspired by the romantic day you planned for her. I didn’t take it the wrong way. Perhaps one day the four of us will meet. I’ll be back to visit more of your blog and I hope you come back here again. Go Colts!

Leave a Reply

